1The Council has the ultimate decision-making power regarding fiscal affairs. The Council has authority to view and review fiscal matters, determine proper policy, and set priorities for the allocation and expenditure of county funds. The General Assembly determines the powers of the county council in this area. Typically these powers include:

• Approving and fixing annual operating budgets of all county government offices and agencies. {IC 36-2-5-7}

• Establishing salaries, wages, per diems, and other compensation for all county officials and employees. {IC 36-2-5-3}

• Fixing tax rates and establishing levies on all county property for the purpose of raising funds to meet budget requirements in conducting county business [IC 36-2-5-11}, as well as authorizing the borrowing of money in the form of bonds and notes. {IC 36-2- 6-18}

• Appropriating public funds, i.e., authorizing the expenditure of county money by particular officials or departments for specific purposes. {IC 36-2-5-11 and IC 36-2-5-12}

• Authorizing certain purchases or sales of county owned land. {IC 36-1-11-3}

• Performing non-binding review of civil units’ budgets within the county and comparing growth rates of civil units with non-farm income growth. Review becomes binding on non-elected units when those units exceed statewide growth average. {6-1.1-17-20.5}

 Putnam County Council Members

Keith Berry
4414 S CR 150 W
Greencastle, IN 46135
ksberry@airhop.com
Phone# 765-653-4016
Larry Parker
4145 W CR 50 N
Greencastle, IN 46135
parker2546@gmail.com
Phone# 765-653-6702
Darrel Thomas
917 Evensview Dr
Greencastle, IN 46135
thomasd@cinergymetro.net
Phone# 765-653-6670
Dave Fuhrman
371 E CR 1100 N
Roachdale, IN 46172
Furmans@tds.net
Phone# 765-522-1337
Gene Beck
7157 N CR 500 E
Bainbridge, IN 46105
gene.beck7@gmail.com
Phone# 765-522-3235
Phillip Gick
911 E Washington St.
Greencastle, IN 46135
phillip.gick@us.army.mil
Phone# 765-848-1111
Jill Bridgewater
1434 Willow Bend Dr.
Greencastle, IN 46135
jill.bridgewater@gmail.com
Phone # 765-721-1426
Mailing Address:
One Courthouse Square, Rm. 20
Greencastle, IN  46135